A WRITER’S LIFE

Books featured at recent event, including The Kayla Chronicles and President of the Whole Sixth Grade by Sherri Winston

Books featured at recent event, including The Kayla Chronicles and President of the Whole Sixth Grade by Sherri Winston

Being an author is a lot like being a Madhatter–so many bloody hats to wear. So sorry. A bit of the Brit in me has bubbled to the top like creme. I’ve been watching Midsomer Murders, a BBC hit on Netflix, and all of a sudden I have a deep longing for tea and scones. I got cut off in traffic this morning and called the man a “bloody wanker.” I am quite impressionable.

John Nettles and Jason Hughes star in Midsomer Murders my latest Netflix addiction

John Nettles and Jason Hughes star in Midsomer Murders my latest Netflix addiction

For real, though, the Madhatter thing is no joke. In real life I feel more like Rick Ross than Miss Marple. Because as Ross so eloquently states in his anthem to getting ahead, “Everyday I’m hustling …everyday I’m hustling ...”

My biggest hustle of late is trying to plan a massive book launch party in a state I no longer live in with funds I don’t yet have. AND engineer a HUGE book giveaway to deserving children. That’s some big baller Rick Rossin’ type of stuff right there. I’ve never been much of a big baller Rick Rossin’ type of individual. More like a non-baller, musical theater

The real boss, Rick Ross

The real boss, Rick Ross

type of girl. Yet, here I am. Go big or go home! That’s what the cheer says.

Which brings us to the http://www.gofundme.com/Sherri-winston campaign you’ve been seeing on my news feed. It’s totally legit. Donate money to the site and I use the money to donate books to kids. If I reach my $7,000 goal, I will have enough money to donate 300 copies of my book, President of the Whole Sixth Grade AND throw a cool book party where I will give away other items and help children and families celebrate reading. So that’s what’s up. Um, I mean, Cheerio and all that sort of rot.

The Queen Mother

The Queen Mother

I’m down with the Queen, y’all. You know how we do. Pinkies out. This is a classy campaign. Click the link and make good things happen!

 

Leave a Reply

